Shout-out to My Number One Fan

Today marks four years since I stood under the chuppah with my best friend and number one fan, Charles Natt.  So I diverge from my focus on the music and people that will be featured on this performance, in order to recognize this non-musician who plays such an important role in my life.  His support and encouragement is incredibly valuable to me.  And even though he can’t tell a tonic chord from a dominant, he has helped with ideas for my music—it was his suggestion to set the “Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow” soliloquy from Macbeth when I told him about my idea for a choral piece that ebbs in and out of existence.  (The resulting work, Signifying Nothing, will be performed by the vocal quartet on this concert.)  He has been the inspiration for my music (the choral piece Perfect Gift dedicated to him, for example) as well as a listening ear for my challenges, musical and otherwise.  Happy anniversary, sweetheart.

(Originally published 12/13/12)

Leave a Reply

